Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Limited slip/ open... my experience/ my 2 cents

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2011, 10:01 PM
Buck Dharma Fan
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Limited slip/ open... my experience/ my 2 cents

OK... let me preface this. yes.limited slip or a locker is better no doubt. I've had limited slip in all 3 of my previous 4x4's. I bought them new and wouldn't have it any other way. My current 4x4,a 1997 F250 PSD is a different story. I bought it used and had no choice in the matter. Its got open diffs and it was too nice to pass up. Well, long story short. I was concerned at first but there hasn't been a thing she couldn't do yet. Yeah, I can tell the difference from my other Lim Slip 4x4's. Especially in 2wd on slippery roads. And what does it do? It gets me to my Catskill Mountain property, hauls my 26' boat up the ramp and takes me and the family on our beach camp outs, loaded to the max with gear & firewood. I'm new to this forum and I'm in no way challenging anyone with the real knowledge. But it seems alot of guys worry too much about it. If I had the choice or the money to burn, I'd make the upgrade for sure. but they don't totally suck. Regards All.

Old 02-05-2011, 10:48 PM
IDIDieselJohn
Post Fiend
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
My 1990 F250 is also a limited slip 4x4. I now drive a 1989 2wd F150 with open 3.55

And so far this winter, hasn't been stuck in anything or anywhere. I've plowed through a couple of good snow banks, drove over curbs for shortcuts and whatnot, does the job fine!

It does take off abit slowlly off the line when the roads are snow covered but other than that. It gets me around!

Old 02-06-2011, 10:24 AM
mechelement
Cargo Master
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts