Tips for buying a used PSD or IDI

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2010, 10:07 PM
eatont9999
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tips for buying a used PSD or IDI

Howdy,

For the past six or so months I have been looking into buying a truck. I have decided that I want some kind of diesel and I have been leaning towards the F250 and F350 diesels. I think the reliability is there and so is the value. I have a $2000 price point, so my options are somewhat limited.

Strangely, I probably know more about the 7.3 PSD than I do my own car. I have been researching them for the last six months and I think I have a pretty good understanding of how the engine runs and the direct injection system. I am not a fan of anything computer/electronically controlled but the PSD has proven itself over the years. That said, I would not turn away a good running 6.9 or 7.3 IDI. I want a truck for three main reasons: so I can move my stuff without needing a rental, etc., I am planning to buy rural property and livestock in the future, and I want a dang truck! Chicks dig guys in trucks right!?

Anyway, what I am looking for from y'all is what I should be expecting when I walk up to, say, a $1700 1995 PSD and if I should buy it or not and based on what reasoning. I am also looking for the same advice on the IDI trucks. If the thing needs new injectors, I have no problem offering the seller $1200. I know how to diagnose the average diesel issues, so no need to point me to the troubleshooting section. I just want to know what I should look for besides the obvious; namely, things that would cost me big money that I may not see. I don't expect perfection but I also don't want a $2500 parts/repair bill in the first month of owning the thing.

Thanks much!

Old 12-28-2010, 10:38 PM
Midwest Dually
Posting Guru