1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Michelin ltx m/s2 or at2?

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2010, 07:49 AM
BrianF-250
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Michelin ltx m/s2 or at2?

So I live in the mountains of Colorado and just found out that the Conti's that come on the F250 are dangerous in snow and ice. I hate the idea of taking off a brand new pair of tires, but these just won't work around here. I was going to do a dedicated snow tire and put them back on in the summer, but nobody has the right size anymore. Now I am thinking of getting the Michelin LTX, but can't decide between the M/S2 or the AT2. The AT has more aggressive tread, and the M/S has more siping for ice traction. I am a contractor and need to have some job site traction and towing ability. It looks like you might get better mpg out of the m/s. More worried about better traction especially in winter conditions. Any input or experience with both would be greatly appreciated. It sounds like both are popular tires to upgrade to.

Thanks

Old 11-12-2010, 08:05 AM
Dodsie
New User
Didn't like the ltx at 2

I had the ltx at 2's on my 07 f-250 and they made the truck move side to side driving down the road. I checked everything on the truck from front end to wheel alignment. The truck only had 95000 kms on it. Dealer took them back for a full refund. I know personally two other people with 3/4 ton trucks that had them and returned them at full charge due to them wearing out way too soon. Michelin makes damn good tires but I don't know of anyone who liked the ltx at-2's.

Old 11-12-2010, 08:15 AM
motown
Senior User
I have A2"s on my truck & my wife Jeep Commander and I'm really disapointed with their performance in the snow. And the bad thing is, Michelins last forever, so I'm stuck with them for a while. I wish I had bought Bridgestone Revo's, I've had good experiances with them.