1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Replace Fan Belts Advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2019, 12:57 PM
Tonto Kowalski
Mountain Pass
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Replace Fan Belts Advice

Hey Gang,
It's my first attempt at replacing the fan belts on my 1985 Ford F150, Inline 6.
I never even thought to inspect until one of the belts (To a compressor I believe) started squealing very loudly about 2 weeks ago.
(I don't drive it everyday)

So, I have a look and i see 4 belts and I (of course) do not see a spring loaded tensioner. I wrongly assumed all vehicles had one.

Any quick advice on swapping out the belts? Do the individual components all have to be loosened and swung to where the belt is loose, then old belts come off, new ones go on, everything is tightened back up?

Also, it looks like either the fan has to come off, or I have to snake the new belt around the fan somehow.

Thanks in advance, pictures to follow...

Old 03-19-2019, 01:23 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,662 Likes on 1,344 Posts
This is old school. so yes, things have to be loosened. And some of this stuff can be difficult to figure out which bolts to loosen to get them to move, you will have some in front and in back.

Take a picture before you start taking the belts off.

You should be able to snake them around the fan inebtween the fan shroud and the blades.

Make sure to spin and wiggle all your components once you get the belts off. Any play or roughness is a sign something is going bad.

I would get quality Dayco belts. You can run the cheaper belts, but you will find you will have to re-tighten the cheap belts several times in the next few weeks to get them to quit slipping. The higher quality belts only once if they need it at all.