need camper electrical help

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2018, 06:44 PM
joey2fords
Fleet Mechanic
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
need camper electrical help

picked up a free camper off craigslist so, as you can imagine, it needs some work.
propane stove and furnace fired up with a little cleaning/troubleshooting and now i am going after the lighting.
i am a complete newbie to campers and am trying to understand how a 12v and a 110v lighting system co-exist.
is there a step-down transformer somewhere that converts 110v to 12v ? i can't see one anywhere and i don't understand how the 12v lights could possibly work on 110v power without one. Also, how do the 110v outlets function if voltage IS being stepped-down by a transformer ?

thanks for any help/direction you can provide.

p.s. there is a small breaker box which obviously protects the 110v wiring. can i assume that the 12v wiring is protected by a fuse in the truck itself ?

Old 12-14-2018, 07:04 PM
crop harvester
Fleet Mechanic
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Our former 1977 Security camper had a metal box under the sink that had a rocker switch to choose 12v or 120v,I assume that was the charger as well.

Old 12-15-2018, 12:47 AM
HRTKD
Boondocker
Received 6,667 Likes on 2,740 Posts
At least in my travel trailer, all 12 volt items are powered from the battery. The 120v circuit goes to a converter which the outputs 12v to charge the battery. If you're connected to 120v AC shore power and you have all the lights on then you're discharging and charging the battery at the same time. That's a gross simplification though.

Here's a circuit diagram that's from AirStream

Old 12-15-2018, 01:50 AM
Seabiscuit-P3
Hotshot
Received 3,974 Likes on 1,223 Posts
Knowing a little more about your camper might help. But, they are all built pretty close to the same with minor differences spread out among year models.