Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stumped! No power when accelerating quickly

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2018, 11:57 PM
hud43
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stumped! No power when accelerating quickly

1994 F-250 HD, 4X4 Off Road, 5.8L 351 EFI, 5 speed ZF transmission.
I have been working this issue now for about six months when I can get the time and it is kicking my a##. It all started when I got off of a six month deployment and went to drive it. It seamed to run just fine, but when I would go to get on the accelerator, it would bog down like it was either missing, not getting fuel or not getting spark.
I have no check engine light and the only code I ever pull is a constant memory code for EGR voltage high. I can't remember the 3 digit number, I'll get it later if it's important, but I think its just a symptom of the loss of power. I've tested the EGR valve and the switch that sits on top of it and it all checks out.

What I have done and found along the way. I could find nothing wrong at first. I did a tune up, plugs, wires, cap and rotor. I also changed out the fuel filter. I had some suggestions that it could be a fuel pump, but I have two tanks and from what I have gathered in my research is that each tank has it's own pump. And two pumps going out at the same time is not likely. Maybe I'm wrong. I've searched all through and around the engine for any type of vacuum leaks or broken wires all vacuum is good and I can't see any broken wires. Truck, runs but, not well. If I accelerate slowly it seams to do okay, but if I get on it, it bogs down and knocks. It does okay on flat level road at any speed if I don't accelerate quickly, but if I come up to a hill, it will lose power and knock.