1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2012 F350 flatbed DRW to SRW 250 or 350?

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2018, 01:56 PM
edcguy5
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 F350 flatbed DRW to SRW 250 or 350?

Afternoon Gents,

Im new here and after lurking a bit I figured Id throw my question out there and get everyone's perspective.

I'm a fencing contractor here in Wyoming, a full-time student, a hunter, adventurer and Ill be commisioning in the Marine Corps here in 6-7 months. Im not much of a truck guy, but I like to have the necessary power for pulling and avoiding getting stuck.

I currently drive a 2012 F350 DRW with a ranchhand bumper, Bradford flatbed, dpf delete and around 160k miles on it. Bought it off my dad at his instances and for a great price, told him that if I was gonna spend that much on a truck Id get something different...

Its a great truck in most regards, however, the main issue I have is the dual rear wheel. As its first and foremostly a fencing truck Im both towing heavy loads, 20k+ with dual tandem flatbed, and going hard to get places. Obviously, the dually doesn't do too well off-road. Ive dealt with it for the last two years but Im getting tired of getting stuck.

Im currently kicking around selling it and replacing it with a 250 or 350 srw. While Im at it Id also like to get one with a bench seat in place of the Lariat trim and center console.

The trucks Im looking at right now are 2013-2015, f350s and 250s, all xlt trim and long box with miles ranging from 50-150k and listed for anywhere from 19k to 29k.

My questions are as follows.

Can I/do I want to get away with saving some money and getting a 250? Keep in mind that within a year this truck won't be doing much work as Ill be commissioned in the Corps.