1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

First Post and First Project.

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2018, 01:12 PM
AlaskaMatt
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile First Post and First Project.

Hello Everyone!

I don't normally post on forums, mostly lurking. I've decided to share my project with everyone, and hopefully ask for advice along the way.

I picked up a 1948 F-6 last week, and am excited to get started. It's not in the greatest of shape, but I couldn't beat the price. $250, and she was all mine. My first goal is to get everything taken apart, and blasted. I know the fenders will have to be replaced, and I'm on the hunt for a new bed. I used to work in the Industrial Coatings Industry, and have a lot of experience with sandblasting. After I'm able to get the body taken apart, I plan on sandblasting all the panels, and seeing what I'm working with. I know the roof of the cab, and the hood will need some work, as well as both doors. I don't have much experience with hammering sheet metal, and I haven't even stayed at a Holiday Inn Express. I'm hoping to learn as I go, and have fun. Thanks for checking out my first project, and thanks in advance for all the help, that I'm counting on.

Old 09-22-2018, 01:58 PM
jniolon
old and in the way
Received 713 Likes on 257 Posts
Hi Matt and welcome to FTE. You're in the right place and there are several here that suffer from your addiction to lost causes (or what seems to be) You've got a great starter vehicle there and one that will be very unique when you're done. Especially in Alaska... Looks like most of that will buff right out . but your seat needs some work.