1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

How to know which dually rims will work?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2018, 04:18 AM
Hossrod
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to know which dually rims will work?

I have a 1973 P400 with dually wheels. It has old 2 piece rims and I want to replace them with new cheap stamped steel rims. However, I'm not sure how to know if something I find online will fit. So far I haven't found a site that has my year/model. So trying to go off measurements.

Measuring the old rims, it looks like they are 16x6 with 8-6.5 bolt pattern. Offset (from center line of rim to back of hub) is 5" and bore is 5.75" (as best I could measure with tape).

For example, I found these, would they work? https://www.roadreadywheels.com/prod...teel-wheel-rim

Also, to add to my confusion, I'm new to duallies and not sure if there are other factors to consider. Like are front and rear the same (I seem to recall that all 6 wheels can be in any position)? Are special lug nuts needed (I'm not sure whats on there now are original, and I want to replace them as well anyways)? etc.

Thanks!

Old 09-19-2018, 05:08 AM
FMJ.
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
16'' x 6'' rims with 8 * 6.5 (a.k.a. 165.10mm) bolt pattern sounds correct. (a.k.a. steelies I think)

Earlier ones had ''acorn'' fittings and are 'lug centric'.

Later models (I don't know from what year) are 'hub centric'. (The ones in the link have no acorns, and might be hub centric.)

Yours will be 'lug centric'.

The picture below shows the alternating hole patterns. Ones with a recess, and ones with a lip. (These are the acorns I believe.)

You could check the front and rear rotors to confirm that they are 'acorn' friendly.

I also believe that they were fitted to Dodges as well as Ford trucks.

You can fit any of the rims to front or back.