Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just bought a 1990 F-150. What should I do first?

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2018, 11:01 PM
collkid
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just bought a 1990 F-150. What should I do first?

Hello FTE!

I'm new to Ford, but not new to cars. I've been all over. Audi, Honda, Toyota, Jeeps, Diesel's, etc.

I needed a pick-em-up truck for hauling things at work and for simple house projects.
I've been looking at everything and saw this come up on CL.

Its a 1990. Family owned. They did a paint job and upholstery so I figured they must have taken decent care of it.

Its a 4.9L manual 4x4 with 210k miles.
I got it for $1,750.

Few questions:

1. What should I do to keep this thing running? Any 'weak points'?
2. The A/C worked last summer (so the PO says) but is warm now. Do I need to recharge it? Is that possible being that its so old?
3. Once I got home, I heard a squeaking sound when I put the clutch in, could this be the throw out bearing? Anything I can do to make it last?
4. The steering wheel feels really loose with a good amount of play. Could this be a track bar? Is that a thing for these axles?

Old 07-15-2018, 11:00 AM
TobyB
More Turbo
Received 45 Likes on 41 Posts
1. oil, coolant, brake, trans and diffs fluid changes. Then you know its been done.
Cap,rotor, wires, plugs and belts- the I6 will run with terribly worn parts, but it runs well with new ones.

2. pressure test first- the condenser in particular can meet a rock...

3. Could be. Nothing I know about will help it.

4. There are several joints that can be loose- have someone turn the steering while you watch and feel. Toe- in (or out, too, in a different way) adds to wander-
check that, as well as your front ball joints...

hth,
t

Old 07-15-2018, 04:39 PM
collkid
Senior User
Thank you for your response.