1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Will not Crank

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2018, 03:55 PM
B-2
Cross-Country
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will not Crank

I have a 2003 F150 with a 5.4 this is my first time having to mess with a computer, I have been changing the vac hose's a little bit at a time. The Check Engine light come on so I bought a Zurich Zr13 code reader from HF. It shows No Powertrain DTC's or Freeze Frame Data stored in vehicle's computer. It will not even Crank over does that mean I have to have someone put those back or can I do it with the code reader. I'm starting to think maybe I should have just finished my 74 Ranchero that I was building for my daily driver instead of jumping into all of this computer stuff. Thanks for any info

Old 06-18-2018, 04:52 PM
pdqford
Logistics Pro
Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts
Originally Posted by B-2
. It will not even Crank over
So, how many volts is the battery showing:
Before you try to crank it?
While you are trying to crank it?

Old 06-18-2018, 05:23 PM
steve(ill)
Hotshot
Received 115 Likes on 102 Posts
a new code reader has NOTHING to do with the truck not cranking over.

FIRST - charge the battery and make sure it is up properly.
SECOND - turn the key and try to crank...... if it cranks, GOOD>

If it does not crank, then determine ---------
do you hear the solenoid clicking when you turn the key ?

If YES , then you need to check the voltage / clean the battery terminals / make sure the battery is GOOD.
If the solenoid does not CLICK when you turn the key, then you are not getting power to the starter.. things to check
--- transmission in park / neutral start switch good / master fuse on fire wall failed

report back what you have found and someone will help you on the next step.

Old 06-20-2018, 09:00 AM
B-2
Cross-Country