1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

Manual 3 speed conversion to 5 speed… ZFS 542 or M5R2?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2018, 10:04 AM
ddepumpo
Junior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Manual 3 speed conversion to 5 speed… ZFS 542 or M5R2?

The truck is 1974 F100 2WD, short bed, originally a 302 (currently 1971 351W), 3 speed manual column shift, 3.25 rear gear. I found this great write-up that answered a lot of my questions: M5R2 5-Speed Transmission Swap Into 67-72 F100 - FORDification.com

Since I’m starting from scratch, I initially assumed that I should go with the ZFS 542, but am now wondering if I should consider the M5R2. I have no experience with either, and am looking for opinions (yes, I know what they say about opinions☺). I am not looking to build a tow vehicle, but would like to be able to periodically tow something like a car trailer if needed. Is the M5R2 okay for limited towing? I drive the truck quite a bit, both in town and on highway trips. What are the pros and cons of each transmission regarding things like ease of conversion, cost, availability, drivability, etc. The rear gear is a 3.25, which I would like to keep.

A couple related questions:

In order to keep my speedometer cable, I believe I am limited to a transmission from 1987-1992 … is this correct for both ZFS and M5?

Cross member – I assume I need to use a cross member from an 87-95 truck with a 5 speed? … will that bolt-on to my 1974 truck without fabrication?

Hydraulic clutch – I think the Fordification link (above) explains this pretty well. Any other tips on this?

Driveshaft – Since mine is a short bed, I have a single drive shaft. What’s the easiest way to come up with the proper length drive shaft? Is there any chance that either the ZFS or M5 is similar in length to my current 3 speed?

Finally – Are things like my starter, clutch spline and pilot bearing compatible with the ZFS and M5?