1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Towing Questions

Old 03-20-2018, 02:42 PM
Quarterwave
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing Questions

Hi,

I have some quick towing questions that I hope I can get some help with.

My truck is a 1985, F150, 351W with a C6. I love the truck but are learning more about it (and what it can do), so please bear with me

My questions:
  1. Will that configuration truck have any issues towing a 21ft, 6,500 lb boat on a dual-axle trailer (weight is boat and trailer combined).
  2. Brakes - I have a new master cylinder, brake booster, front rotors, calipers and pads. Rears have not been touched. Will this vehicle be able to STOP that much weight behind it, without too much effort?
  3. Brakes cont. - I believe I have a brake controller, located just below where the steering column meets the dash - which I think is for trailers (maybe I'm wrong - if so, please correct me!). How does that hook up? My trailer does NOT have trailer brakes, but more importantly, I can't see any type of a connection point towards the rear of the truck. The bumper just has the license plate in the middle and the light-gauge tow ball in front of that with lights either side.
  4. Does anyone have any recommendations for a tow hitch to suit my truck that will be safe for a 21ft boat? I was looking online and saw this: https://www.etrailer.com/Trailer-Hit...leid=198513658 . Is that overkill or ok?
  5. How can I wire in the trailer light connector? Where does the harness bolt into?
  6. I have a 4 inch lift on my truck. Will I need a custom ball mount kit?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Old 03-20-2018, 04:29 PM
Nothing Special
Logistics Pro
Received 50 Likes on 45 Posts
Originally Posted by Quarterwave
Hi,

I have some quick towing questions that I hope I can get some help with.