1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Rough Idle and Stalling

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2018, 12:00 PM
dknox2103
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rough Idle and Stalling

Hey guys, newbie here asking for some help. I have a 1981 F150 4X4 Flareside with a 302 HO and a 3 Speed Automatic C6 Transmission that are not original to the truck. I have an Edelbrock Performer intake and 1406 Edelbrock Carb w/electric choke.

I've had problems keeping this truck running since I brought almost 10 years ago, but I love it too much to let it go.

I have both a Haynes and a Chilton manual and they mention vacuum leaks, timing, or carb can be some of the reasons for my current issue.

At any rate, I got it back from the mechanic last summer and noticed that it was acting like it wasn't getting fuel, hesitating a lot. When I got it home (the mechanic is 100 miles from my house), I noticed that it was leaking fuel. Sure enough, the fuel pump was bad. I had a new fuel pump put on and it seemed as though it ran better. There was some hesitation, but it ran fairly well other than that. The next thing I know, I heard what sounded like a balloon burst under my driver's side dash and I could hear what sounded like a loud hissing coming from there; especially when I stepped on the brakes.

I read up on this forum and checked some other online sites and it seemed to point to a vacuum leak caused by a bad power brake booster. I purchased one and installed it a week ago and the hissing sound went away. However, the engine revved up really high from a cold start right after I installed it and when I tapped the gas, it throttled down really low and started to rev up and down (kinda like it was lopping) until it died. It started up with some effort, but the lopping idle continued. When I put it into gear, it just stalled out.