1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

'56 F100 Barn Find-Road Trip-Rebuild!! (PICS)

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2017, 10:31 PM
GJPilcher
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'56 F100 Barn Find-Road Trip-Rebuild!! (PICS)

Hello everyone. Thank you to all of you who gave me such a great welcome in my introduction thread the other week. To update, I am an F100 lover but absolute noob, and as an classic VW guy this is really taking me to new realms, so let's just say I'm a total beginner and know next to nothing. A friend of mine has sold me a '56 F100, which was out in Nevada. I am in Utah. ROAD TRIPPPPPPP

^^^ So, Highway 50 out of Utah in parts is classified as "The Loneliest Road in America". Now I know why. This is what we saw for 90% of the 4.5hrs we rattled along in a 2000 F250 Powerstroke with a 20ft enclosed trailer behind, getting exceptionally bad gas mileage.

We finally made it to our destination, a small town called Ely. My friends' family are from here and as we pulled into his property I was blown away at the amount of incredible stuff laying around...

I asked if it was ok to take pics and they were totally fine with it. Out of respect/privacy/discresion I won't post every pic I have but suffice to say this place made me quiver with the possibilities.

Anyways, we opened the huge wobbly doors of a large barn and inside, is my '56, in many pieces, but it's all in here somewhere.

There were parts of my truck everywhere, but nicely kept in pots/buckets and boxes. There was a digger that we used to drag her out. We loaded the bed with so many parts and spare parts from another truck I've bought (but cannot get home just yet), put a spare bed upside down on top and winched the truck into the trailer backwards. Then filed the gaps with parts/trans/engine/fenders etc. We stopped on the way back a few times and I checked our cargo - it was strapped down good!