Sponsored by: DP Tuner

help, trans just lost gears

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2017, 10:14 PM
Liquid10Rider
More Turbo

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
help, trans just lost gears

Hey guys, tonight on my way home I stopped at a traffic light and when it turned green I got on the throttle a little and the trans shifted and I slowed up a little and proceeded to go back on the throttle but not hard and the trans just made an nice ZINGGGG noise. I noticed if I took it out of OD it still didn't go away. I came to a stop and put the truck in D and started driving. I believe I lost 3rd and 4th.

Now the question is how bad is it to rebuild. I am a mechanic so I have knowledge of how to work on engines and what not but I never dove into a trans. Money is tight right now so Im trying to do this myself to save labor. the shop i work at has a lift and press to use.

I read different forums about this and they all suggested the ATSG manual and some special tools.

Heres my questions about this whole process
-how bad is it to rebuild?
-what specialty tools do you need, and can you rent them?
-what kit should I go with?
-and I know the trans was rebuild back at 65k, truck now has 216K, the TC is purple so its aftermarket but should it be replaced while its out?
-what else should be done besides the rebuild kit?
-Should I just go with a rebuilt trans from a place like monster transmissions or will it be cheaper to just do this myself?

I am not looking for a trans to hold 1000 HP, I want to make it a little stronger than stock and have it last.

I dont tow much but I do when a friend needs something, I do plow at my job, but the truck is mainly highway.

I will have the truck towed by a buddy to my job so I can at least get the trans ripped out tomorrow. I am trying to rebuild ASAP.

Thank you,
-AJ

Old 08-18-2017, 10:42 PM
varminthunter243
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts