1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

The "I love my 69" build thread

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2017, 02:05 PM
truckstang94
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The "I love my 69" build thread

So, I threw down on my "newbie" thread! Hello all! This was supposed to be a two year project for my daughter and myself, however, I just found out I was accepted to Med school. Needless to say, my timeline has moved up to this December! The day my 13 y/o and I picked her up...

My brother and I got to work tearing the rotted bed out, as it was the worst part by far.

Then, put the little one to work with the power washer!

Old 07-06-2017, 02:22 PM
truckstang94
Freshman User
This has been interesting to say the least. I was a tech for Ford MoCo for years before joining the service... it's funny how they say techs come in generations. Well I definitely had mine; and missed the "older" gen with 9 inch rear ends! Bit of a learning curve but not too much unlike the 8.8 and other larger diff's I'm used to working on.
Lacking a slide-hammer = improvising

Looking like a little water was sitting in the case

Took the housing for a nice "hot bath" at the local radiator shop. Of course, it was raining on the day I go to pick it up... so instant rust. Had to rush home and clean it up to get a coat of rust converter on it.

Rusted on the 30 min drive home

Old 07-06-2017, 02:46 PM
truckstang94
Freshman User
Sourced a complete rear disk brake setup off a 1997 Exploder from a local junkyard for $60; including calipers, backing plates, rotors, emergency brake cables, and all nuts/bolts. Started to try and figure out how to get the backing plates centered. Best I could figure was to use an old axle and bearing as both the diff housing and backing plate have the same ID. Once the axle was in place I could clock the plate where I needed it to be and mark the holes for enlargement.

Here you can see the finished product (minus all the hardware)