6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Possible New 6.4 owner

Old 04-26-2017, 04:07 PM
Themoose56
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Possible New 6.4 owner

Well guys after doing a lot of truck shopping the past few weeks Ive finally found (i think anyway) the winner. She's a 2008 f350 4dr lariat 6.4 diesel. Im not new to diesels but I am new to the 6.4...I put a deposit down on the truck for the dealer to hold it for me while they pout it throughout their shop. I went in yesterday wanting to look at a 350 dually with the 7.3 but it has too many miles IMO for the price tag so he showed me this truck that they had just gotten in. He told me they are doing all new glow plugs but I test drove her for a good 30 minutes and it just absolutely drove great.
Before I go ahead and move forward what should I really be looking for in the 6.4?? Everything looked good under the hood, had a aftermarket air intake and an aftermarket exhaust from the turbo back. Safe to assume the deletes have been done?

I have test driven other 6.4's and they were super quiet compared to this one with nothing done to the engines. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Old 04-26-2017, 04:27 PM
Copper.Farm
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If the DPF has been deleted then there has to be a tune to turn off the re-generation. Is the tuner included with the truck?

If not, then you have a bunch of unknowns as to how the tuner that you do buy will work with the known and unknown modifications. All the best of luck.

Old 04-26-2017, 05:05 PM
Themoose56
Senior User
Originally Posted by Copper.Farm
If the DPF has been deleted then there has to be a tune to turn off the re-generation. Is the tuner included with the truck?

If not, then you have a bunch of unknowns as to how the tuner that you do buy will work with the known and unknown modifications. All the best of luck.