Notices
6.2L V8 Discuss the 6.2L V8

new motor or replace the heads?

 
  #31  
Old 05-14-2019, 07:09 PM
bla1879's Avatar
bla1879
bla1879 is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 1,381
bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by Squisher View Post
Just note the mileage the motor was replaced at. Throw a note in with the regi and obviously keep the receipt too. A new motor does not negate the mileage on the chassis and no the odometer will not be reset.
I have two trip odometers so now one will be my odometer for the new motor!

Originally Posted by Slowpoke Slim View Post
To put a finer point on it, it is illegal for the shop to reset your odometer.
I was wondering about the legality. I know it's not something that is common or easy to do and know there are generally exceptions to most rules, but it makes sense in this case that it is not reset.
 
  #32  
Old 05-15-2019, 03:33 PM
bla1879's Avatar
bla1879
bla1879 is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 1,381
bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.
**UPDATE**

Alright, the truck is mine again! Got it back from the shop yesterday evening and its perfect.

The only things that needed to be accommodated to fit the new motor had to do with the oil cooler. I guess Ford came out with an update to how the oil cooler is fitted, mounted, and plumbed. There were no major problems putting the more new motor in an older truck.

I had the transmission fully serviced while it was easily accessible with new fluids etc. Also had an AC service. Very very happy with how everything came out. The truck drives quieter and smoother than it ever has.




completed and all clean!

could never tell it had no motor two days ago

All tucked in

everything in its place
 
  #33  
Old 05-16-2019, 09:29 AM
spud57's Avatar
spud57
spud57 is online now
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 429
spud57 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
So you actually have the updated 2017+ 6.2? I also see it takes 5W30 oil.
 
  #34  
Old 05-16-2019, 09:53 AM
geekwithoutacause
geekwithoutacause is online now
Elder User
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 502
geekwithoutacause is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by bla1879 View Post
I have two trip odometers so now one will be my odometer for the new motor!



I was wondering about the legality. I know it's not something that is common or easy to do and know there are generally exceptions to most rules, but it makes sense in this case that it is not reset.
Nothing illegal about it as long as you disclose it.
 
  #35  
Old 05-16-2019, 10:23 AM
bla1879's Avatar
bla1879
bla1879 is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 1,381
bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by spud57 View Post
So you actually have the updated 2017+ 6.2? I also see it takes 5W30 oil.
Yes indeed. It’s a 2019.
 
  #36  
Old 05-17-2019, 01:08 AM
Squisher's Avatar
Squisher
Squisher is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 979
Squisher has a good reputation on FTE.Squisher has a good reputation on FTE.
Congrats. Thanks again for the updates and following through with the completion.

So to be clear there were no wiring differences, just the mentioned oil cooler differences and that's it?
 
  #37  
Old 05-17-2019, 08:09 AM
bla1879's Avatar
bla1879
bla1879 is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 1,381
bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by Squisher View Post
Congrats. Thanks again for the updates and following through with the completion.

So to be clear there were no wiring differences, just the mentioned oil cooler differences and that's it?
I believe that is correct. When it was all done and in I asked what they had to do to make it work and the only thing mentioned was the oil cooler. Nothing about intakes, wiring or anything else.
 
  #38  
Old 05-17-2019, 05:06 PM
Slowpoke Slim's Avatar
Slowpoke Slim
Slowpoke Slim is offline
Posting Guru
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 1,025
Slowpoke Slim has a great reputation on FTE.Slowpoke Slim has a great reputation on FTE.Slowpoke Slim has a great reputation on FTE.Slowpoke Slim has a great reputation on FTE.Slowpoke Slim has a great reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by geekwithoutacause View Post
Nothing illegal about it as long as you disclose it.

Better check with your individual state's laws before you make such a bold statement as fact.
 
  #39  
Old 05-17-2019, 05:14 PM
geekwithoutacause
geekwithoutacause is online now
Elder User
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 502
geekwithoutacause is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by Slowpoke Slim View Post
Better check with your individual state's laws before you make such a bold statement as fact.
I am sure. There is this odometer disclosure statement we have here. You use it when the odometer has been altered. 100% legal.
 
  #40  
Old 05-17-2019, 10:15 PM
bla1879's Avatar
bla1879
bla1879 is offline
Posting Guru
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 1,381
bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.bla1879 has a good reputation on FTE.
In CA it is illegal to change the odometer. My mechanic notified Ford that my VIN number had had a motor replacement but said he doesn't change odometers.
 
  #41  
Old 05-18-2019, 10:29 AM
leadmic
leadmic is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Visalia U.S.A.
Posts: 771
leadmic is starting off with a positive reputation.
Why would you change the odometer just because you changed the engine? The rest of the truck isn't new or any different and the truck has the same VIN number..
 
  #42  
Old 05-18-2019, 04:06 PM
Squisher's Avatar
Squisher
Squisher is offline
Elder User
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 979
Squisher has a good reputation on FTE.Squisher has a good reputation on FTE.
It was just a question which has been answered a few times/ways now.

If i could I'd reset the odometer in my truck every time I drove it. So it would be new forever!
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: