Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   2007 - 2014 Expedition & Navigator (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum174/)
-   -   Upgrade OEM GPS/NAV on 2007 Expy to SYNC System (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/958507-upgrade-oem-gps-nav-on-2007-expy-to-sync-system.html)

st381 05-18-2010 11:38 PM

Upgrade OEM GPS/NAV on 2007 Expy to SYNC System

Hi,

Noob here. I just purchased a 2007 Ford Expedition EL Limited, fully loaded, a great low mileage find. I like the OEM Nav but the wife wants the SYNC stuff and a back up camera. I have a couple of questions:

1. Can I purchase a new Gen I or II Ford OEM Nav Radio with SYNC for my vehicle and would it work with minimal or no additional hook ups?

2. Does the rear DVD system run a video cable to the area of the Nav unit to watch the DVD while in park should I choose to upgrade?

3. Does the later model rear camera OEM Parts work on the 2007 Expy? Would I need to run wires? Would the rear view mirror with LCD screen be powered with the 07 wires?

Thanks in advance to all that respond!

Tylus 05-19-2010 12:46 AM

1. no

2. ???

3. Yes, you might be lucky, but most likely the wires will not be there.

The OEM is awesome (I have it), but you would really be better off IMO with one of those liscense plate camera's and a good touchscreen unit like a Pioneer.

As for Sync...Ford got wierd and in 2008 they rewired the cars differently. Now the radio system runs on the CanBus system. Ford specifically says early 2008 and older models cannot run Sync. Only later 2008 and 2009 models can be retro-fitted.

sucks. But I rectified that with a JVC headunit. Very nice. It isn't as smart as the Sync obviously, but it gets the job done. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news

st381 05-19-2010 01:31 AM