Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   FE & FT Big Block V8 (332, 352, 360, 390, 406, 410, 427, 428) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum51/)
-   -   390 flywheel on a 360? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/94143-390-flywheel-on-a-360-a.html)

Crowbar65 01-24-2003 03:15 PM

390 flywheel on a 360?

Hello all!
This is my first attempt at the world of mixing and matching Fords.
I have a 360 that came with an automatic, and I need to put it in a '78 one ton with a 4 speed.
Will a flywheel form a 390 work on my 360?
I saw some posts that were both pro and con.
Little help please, before I get it all together.
Thanks,
Mike

BB 01-24-2003 03:22 PM

390 flywheel on a 360?

They're the same, go for it.

Barry

Crowbar65 01-24-2003 03:41 PM

390 flywheel on a 360?

Thanks Barry. Good to know these things before I drive it off a cliff in frustration ! ! ! :D
How about the pilot bushing, a common part?

jowilker 01-24-2003 04:08 PM

390 flywheel on a 360?

Like the man said, their the same. :-X06

krewat 01-26-2003 11:06 AM

390 flywheel on a 360?

Originally posted by BBB
They're the same, go for it.

Barry

There's no reason to believe me, but I'm going to say it again. I took a 360 out of my '74 F250 that my brother rebuilt himself. It was over 150K miles and getting old. I decided to build a 390 and got another block, crank, rods, etc. The 360 that was in the truck was (I believe) a '68 that had been rebuilt.

When I was done putting the 390 together, I used the harmonic balancer and flywheel from the 360. It VIBRATED LIKE HECK!

I went out and talked to an FE guru here on the Island who built 100's of them and he said "No way you can use that 360 flywheel on a 390". He sold me a flywheel and I got another balancer from a junkyard. Ford parts department also said they were different part #'s for the balancer, but not sure why.