Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Paint & Bodywork (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum67/)
-   -   Prime or fill first? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/93422-prime-or-fill-first.html)

BlueMeanie 01-21-2003 12:00 AM

Prime or fill first?

Ah- so this is my first attempt at a little bodywork. I got a little rusty spot sanded down to bare metal. I assume that I fill the hole, smooth down the Bondo, then prime, then sand again? This isn't a show truck; just looking to fix a hole (or two).

Thanks,
Brian

Carlene 01-21-2003 01:45 PM

Prime or fill first?

Hi Brian -

Since you're doing the repair on bare metal, you need to treat the metal because the fillers hold moisture and the rust will come back.

What I did -
1st treated with Ospho,
2nd put on a coat of etching primer,
3rd put on a coat of epoxy primer,
4th did the filler,
5th another coat of epoxy
and
now I'm blocking it out be misting with a puff can enamel of a different color to find what minor imperfections I couldn't see before.

Once I'm done blocking, I'll put another coat of epoxy then the BC/BS to finish.

I tried using the high build primer, but I didn't like it.

BlueMeanie 01-23-2003 12:20 AM

Prime or fill first?

Thanks. A little more complicated than I thought, but certainly not impossible.

Carlene 01-23-2003 08:55 AM

Prime or fill first?

Hey Brian -

It's not really that complicated, just alot of steps to keep the rust from coming back.

Heck, if I can do it, anyone can.

Rosati 01-23-2003 11:23 AM

Prime or fill first?

Have you ever experience your sandpaper getting clogged when sanding primer or body filler? I get it when I first start sanding but once I get through the "skin" and clean the paper, it sand like it should. I have tried many forms of sandpaper but they've all done it. Any suggestions?

Carlene 01-23-2003 12:20 PM

Prime or fill first?