Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Offroad & 4x4 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum63/)
-   -   Axle shaft horizontal play??? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/922170-axle-shaft-horizontal-play.html)

Fullcrew7.3 01-18-2010 09:46 PM

Axle shaft horizontal play???

I finished installing my D60 last week and was just wondering how much, if any, side to side play there should be on the axle shafts????? It definitely has more on the driver's side than the passenger side. It turns well, no bearing noises, etc. It's a ball joint unit from a '91 if that makes any difference. I'm new to 4x4, so please forgive any newbie type questions. I tried searching, but didn't really know what to search for???
Thanks

79Ford4x4 01-18-2010 10:02 PM

Are you saying that the shafts slide in and out of the tubes some? If that's the case then I say none. They should be held in place inside the hub. Did you open her up before installing the D60? Also balljoint 60's started in 92

Prozon 01-18-2010 10:40 PM

Hmm.. I want to say that a little bit is okay, but I don't know.. How much are we talking here??

Fullcrew7.3 01-18-2010 11:01 PM

Yeah, there's a fair bit. Yes, it's the shafts moving horizontally in the tubes. Never measured it. Nope, never opened it up. Not using it until spring, so I guess I have time to get her apart and check it out. What am I looking for? What hold the shafts in place? You say it's in the hub?? I did have one apart to change the spindle bearing, but don't recall exactly how it went together. I'll check the tech thread for exploded views, I guess.

going up 2! 01-19-2010 10:16 AM

should have alittle play yes,if u have the spindle nuts tight and play is minimal,aroung 1/8"u should b ok.i have play in my front 60 but it is a 1978 kingpin and i have rebuilt the whole thing.

Prozon 01-19-2010 10:49 AM