Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum31/)
-   -   Some more glow plug changing questions (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/761549-some-more-glow-plug-changing-questions.html)

superduty4x4 07-26-2008 03:56 PM

Some more glow plug changing questions

Bear with me guys, remember I'm still new to the PSD :D
A lot of the stuff I read on changing the glow plugs says to make sure not to let a bunch of oil run into the glow plug hole when swapping them out- where would this oil be coming from?
Do the VC bolts need to be torqued, or can they just be snugged down?
What is the torque spec for the rocker arms?

Got my new PCM in today (no test run yet) and this is next on the list of things to do.

F350-6 07-26-2008 04:38 PM

You shouldn't have too much to worry about with the oil in the glow plug holes. Take a rag and wipe around them before you pull them out. I had my covers off last weekend and I don't see the oil being a big issue.

Now for the torque specs. I HIGHLY recommend doing this, even if you have no reason to pull the valve covers. I still can't believe how much better my truck sounds.

Rocker Arm Pedestals 20 ft lbs
Injector hold down bolts 120 in lbs.

I just snugged down my VC bolts.

superduty4x4 07-26-2008 07:52 PM

I'll need an in/lbs torque wrench for the injectors... wifey won't like that one much.

megawatt00 07-26-2008 07:58 PM

Originally Posted by superduty4x4 (Post 6389287)
I'll need an in/lbs torque wrench for the injectors... wifey won't like that one much.

Do you have a Harbor Freight near you? They have them and not to much $$. There is one near me. If you want I can pick one up and send it to you.

danskool 07-26-2008 08:20 PM

Or if you torque wrench will accommodate 10 foot pounds.

F350-6 07-26-2008 08:26 PM

Originally Posted by superduty4x4 (Post 6389287)