Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum168/)
-   -   is my process wrong (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/760734-is-my-process-wrong.html)

TxFordGuy 07-23-2008 12:45 PM

is my process wrong

I am new to making my own biodiesel but have made what i think are 2 successful 20gal batches. Someone please correct me if i am wrong. I have 20gal of oil and i add 4 gal of methanol. i add the appropriate amount of KOH per my tiration tests which are usually between 2-3. i use a base amount of 7g/L. I mix for 1 hr heating to 120F and then mix the methoxide for 45min. i let settle for at leat 24hours. i thought you were supposed to get only 10% glycerin which is about what i have been getting. i am draining out about 2.5 gal of glycerin. I run the rest through a purolite drywash filter and a regular fuel filter before going into the tank. I have been reading on the forums about you should get 80-95% yeild of your batch. Is that before or after you add the meth? Me having 20gal oil + 4 gal of meth = 24 gals of liquid. i drain out 2.5 gal glycerin = 21.5 biofuel? correct? Thanks for any feedback

bradyracing 07-25-2008 10:59 AM

What you are doing is not correct. First you should be using 4.4 gallons of meoh not 4. Also, 45 min mix at 120 isn't long enough especially if your using one of those little blue HF pumps. They are only pumping 5.5 gallons/min of water. If your set on mixing for only 45 min.,increase temp to 140-145 degrees. You are right that bio produces 10% glycerin but thats pure glycerin. The stuff you drain is glycerin, meoh, catalyst, soap,crud, and water. If you use 20-22% methoxide and your oil titrates at 2-3 you should be getting back 4.5 to 6.5 gallons of crude glycerin. If you got only 2.5 gallons back your bio is underconverted and should fail the 3/27 test.

TxFordGuy 07-25-2008 10:45 PM