Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Oil & Lubrication (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum70/)
-   -   Who actually uses Royal Purple? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/732212-who-actually-uses-royal-purple.html)

azfordf100man 04-15-2008 11:28 AM

Who actually uses Royal Purple?

Hey guys,

I know RP has been discussed alot, but I was just curious as to who is running it as there main oil? Are you happy with it's overall performance?

The reason I am asking is because RP is the current fill in my mark but I'm wanting to find out more about this oil before I start using it every oil change. BTW, so far I have 4K on this OCI and have been satisfied so far.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Ryan50hrl 04-15-2008 07:52 PM

Not me....just good ol ford 5w20 semi syn

hofuf 04-15-2008 08:29 PM

I've been using it for about 7 years. Started when my neighbor (Rotating equipment engineer for Shell) recommended it.

Blu04XLT 04-15-2008 09:10 PM

Heard of RP but not familiar with it. I've always used what Ford recommends per owners manual Motorcraft 5W20 and have had no problems. Very low cost 5qt. jugs at Wal-Mart for $10.36/jug last week. Motorcraft filters less than $4.00.

ford390gashog 04-15-2008 09:31 PM

Not for the engine. But their other products like Gear oil, MTF,ATF and grease. Their prices are very decent on those products and with those fluids going 30k and beyond before service the cost is not bad. I get RP gear oil for 8.99 and ATF for 5.97 at the local parts house.

BChance 04-15-2008 10:40 PM