Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio & Video Systems, Navigation, Satellite Radio & Mobile Electronics (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum60/)
-   -   1996 Explorer Eddie Bauer Factory Radio Change...Help (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/728906-1996-explorer-eddie-bauer-factory-radio-change-help.html)

suave6565 04-06-2008 06:02 PM

1996 Explorer Eddie Bauer Factory Radio Change...Help

I have a 1996 Ford Explorer EB. My Truck has the original factory radio,amp and sub. I am new at this and i want to do this this right way without going overboard. I've been checking out the site, and have seen some pretty good installs and have loved the site for being so informative!! Because of the money situation, i can only upgrade a little at a time, so i want to do this without completely loosing my tunes.

What i like to do first, is replace the my factor JBL radio and replace it with a Dual Din radio that has DVD player that comes with a nice size screen or i can go with single din and get the trim kit...As for the Dual Din, I've only seen custom work to have these radio installed. from what i understand, there maybe some cutting involved to make the dual din fit.any suggestions??

If i should choose any radio, i still have the issue with the 6 CD changer. i would like to replace the existing one and install it with a new changer that can fit in the same spot as the original. is this possible or should be looking at the my center console with more space?

what is a wire harness??? I've seen this term thrown around and thought i might ask here then do a search on the web and get tons o definitions. is this something that makes wiring radios easy? Like an adapter?? if s, where can i get it?