Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1997 - 2003 F150 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum25/)
-   -   HELP!!! my battery is brand new and keeps going dead!!!! (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/7282-help-my-battery-is-brand-new-and-keeps-going-dead.html)

007 07-22-2001 01:54 PM

HELP!!! my battery is brand new and keeps going dead!!!!

I own a 1997 F159 short box....and I am having mega problems with my battery going dead! I have taken it in and had my brand new battery tested...after 45 minutes of shut down its drawing a very normal 0.03 Nobody can seem to tell me what is wrong. My truck is parked for usually two weeks at a time (im a trucker) And every time I come home my battery is dead. Can some one tell me why this is happening? I heard a rumor about the battery ports being too close to the hood but mine have plastic covers over them, and plenty of clearance.
What am i doing wrong? how can I keep my battery from going dead?
I hate having to keep disconecting it when I leave town.

jerryrigged 07-22-2001 04:59 PM

Something is not right. Either your battery is bad, or the truck is drawing more than .03A.

I would try disconnecting the battery before you leave it next time. Check the voltage. When you return 2 weeks later, there should be very little loss of voltage. Sometimes brand new batteries can be defective, and have an internal short.

If the battery is OK, then you will need to start checking your truck's electrical system. It may have an intermittent current draw that you haven't seen, yet. This can be very difficult to locate. If you have added any aftermarket accessories, I would start there. Do you have an alarm?

007 07-22-2001 11:33 PM