Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1997 - 2003 F150 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum25/)
-   -   same ol same ol- 4.6 misfire (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/700945-same-ol-same-ol-4-6-misfire.html)

DanK5 01-28-2008 02:49 PM

same ol same ol- 4.6 misfire

Hey newbie here with wore out eyes from reading past posts with no real conclusion. So HELP http://controlledlabsforum.com/image...s/banghead.gif

Here's the skinny-
Vehicle: 99 F150 2WD ext cab LWB 4.6 & manual. Current mileage: 143840. When purchased(Oct 03) it had an intermittent misfire. Shortly after I bought it(98k miles) I replaced the plugs(Autolite) & wires(Motorcraft) and fuel filter. Tested some of the easier things the Haynes manual suggested but found nothing. It ran good for a few weeks then began misfiring again. Ran some GM fuel injector/system cleaner & it ran normal for 2-3 weeks then back to missing again. The miss was only under load, never at idle. Got a code for the EGR once so replaced it. It still missed. I took off the top piece on the intake and cleaned the clogged EGR ports, this was late 2004. The engine mis-fired intermittently until recently when it gave a code P0350. It’s missing at idle etc and drinking gas. Replaced plugs again(Motorcraft SP432 Jan 08). Still misses at idle and under load constantly.

I'm wondering if I’ve clogged the cat running it this long with a mis-fire. Never thought of that. What to suspect? injectors? Coil pack? Is there a way to test the coil packs? I do not have COP.

Thanks, Dan

antony25 01-28-2008 03:53 PM

This code indicates a primary ignition coil malfunction which will cause misfires. Check both 3 wire coil connectors for proper fitting or damage. Make sure the pins in the connector are not spread from someone sticking a test lead in the connector.

DanK5 01-28-2008 04:09 PM