Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum168/)
-   -   Blending WVO & adding aux fuel tank. (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/645245-blending-wvo-and-adding-aux-fuel-tank.html)

MooseHead 08-23-2007 01:05 PM

Blending WVO & adding aux fuel tank.

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie so please bear with me. I pick up my 02 F250 PSD this Saturday and want to start blending or using Diesel Secret Energy.

This is my first Ford and my second diesel (first was a 01 Ram 2500) which I got rid of after 11 months (blew an injector pump after 2 months).

So if there's anyone blending or using DSE out there in a 7.3PSD please let me know how it's going and any suggestions that you may have.

I'm also looking at putting a Aux fuel tank/toolbox combo in the bed and would like to put the WVO blend in that tank and have a valve to switch between #2 and the blend in the second tank, so any suggestions for valves and tanks would be great also.

Thanks,

Jeff

Phydeaux88 08-23-2007 02:22 PM

Please do not use foul language (Diesel Secret) here. It is not held in high regard by most of our participants.

Why do you want to blend instead of running straight WVO or BioDiesel?

MooseHead 08-23-2007 02:33 PM

Figured I would blend and take the money savings and put them towards a SVO kit. I can 1 tank it with a blend for a couple more months until it starts to cool down.

Phydeaux88 08-23-2007 06:00 PM

Blending is risky.
There are some here that swear by it but their observations do not jive with the scientific facts. Blends will seperate over time and you could end up burning unheated VO. That is a recipe for disaster.

You would be risking a $10000 engine to save the approx $3000 cost of converting the truck to burn VO.

If you do not have the cash to do a VO conversion build an appleseed processor and learn to make Bio.