Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum168/)
-   -   Stanadyne rotary IPs on svo. (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/632092-stanadyne-rotary-ips-on-svo.html)

fluxcore 07-14-2007 02:03 AM

Stanadyne rotary IPs on svo.

Hi everyone. This is my first post here. I am a member of 4 other forums (3 biofuel and 1 diesel). I was referred to this site by a posting on www.biodiesel.infopop.cc

Anyway, I'm very interested in svo. I've been studying svo for about 3-4 years now.

I own an 88 F-250 7.3 IDI. When I first bought the truck, I new that its Stanadyne IP wasn't the best choice for svo conversion, but I was under the impression that if it were treated properly it would be okay.

A few days ago, I spoke to a local lady mech who basically told me that these Stanadyne IPs were doomed to die if run on svo. She mentioned a hot starting problem and said svo use was "high maintenance".

I've heard of people having problems running veggie through these IPs before, but I've also heard success stories too.

If anyone here has any experience running the Ford diesels on veggie, please let me know how it was/is for you.

Thanks in advance!

willbd 07-14-2007 09:05 AM

I am running WVO on a 95 PSD. I start and stop on Diesel. No issues. My setup is a 2 tank system with the front tank heated. I have a Artict fox heat exchanger and 18 feet of hoses on hose fuel line with a Racor 120 gph heated fuel filter. I know that heat is your friend in any WVO setup.

I can not speat to running WVO on a 7.3 IDI.

fluxcore 07-14-2007 09:31 PM

Hi Bill. 3 questions 4 you:

What brand of Injection pumps are on the newer Powerstroke Fords?

Is it still a Stanadyne rotary style, or did Ford switch to something else?

How many miles do you have on veggie?

cookie88 07-14-2007 09:47 PM