Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum38/)
-   -   Heater Issue - 1978 F150 4X4 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/582362-heater-issue-1978-f150-4x4.html)

hzncyr 02-20-2007 03:21 PM

Heater Issue - 1978 F150 4X4

Ok, I am new to the forum. I have a 1978 F150 4X4, 400 2bbl.

Air blowing out of defrost or floor vents never gets warm until the weather warms up some. Have pulled heater hoses and blown air through the heater core. Seems to have no restrictions. Engine temp appears fine. I have a 195 degree t-stat and have blocked the radiator by about 2/3. I have also taken the fan shroud off in an attempt to force the engine to run hotter so I can get some warm air in the cab. All to no avail.

Any ideas?

I ahve been freezing my butt off for the past few weeks in Michigan.

77f150got_sand 02-20-2007 03:30 PM

welcome to the site!
check to make sure the heat control door in the heater box is adjusted correctly and not letting cold air past the heater core. Even though you say you cleaned the heater core it may still be plugged enough to slow the heat down. I live in Michigan too, I had the same problems a few months ago, and after I replaced the core it was better than it had been in years.
Joel

hzncyr 02-20-2007 03:36 PM

Thanks

Thanks for the quick reply. I will feel in the box to ensure the door is closing all the way. I have had this apart once before and did not notice any restrictions in the movement of the door.

How can I tell if the heater core is clogged, even partially?

77f150got_sand 02-20-2007 03:41 PM

If its clogged, one heater hose will be much cooler than the other. With a new core, both hoses feel about the same temp.
Joel

Mil1ion 02-20-2007 03:47 PM

Is this a standard heater or does it have AC ?

have you physically moved the HEAT/TEMP control cable so it is in the HOT position?