Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum41/)
-   -   1960 Drum Brake Upgrade (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/579127-1960-drum-brake-upgrade.html)

60 Custom Cab 02-11-2007 10:09 PM

1960 Drum Brake Upgrade

Hello,

Greetings! A complete newbie here. I've just registered in a quest to find info on the refurb of my '60 Custom Cab. I've owned and written about old Fords and other old cars most of my professional life, but this is my first old F100.

The truck has been sitting for quite a while. The gas smells like it's old enough to vote. You should see the nasty black sludge I found at the bottom of the fuel tank. Looks like it could be an X-File. I've got the fuel system well at hand, but I am asking your help in rebuilding the brakes which are completly inop. I don't want to go the disc brake conversion route - I want to keep it pretty much stock looking, but I'm wondering if anyone has swapped bigger brakes in place of the stock 11 x 2 front/11 x 1 3/4 rear. Some literature I have shows that the Courier has bigger brakes: 11 x 3 front/11 x 2.5 rear. Just wondering if anyone has been down this road already.

Thanks very much.
BTW, how do I upload a couple photos of my truck?

All the best

NumberDummy 02-11-2007 10:45 PM

Welcome to FTE.

I believe the Couriers have metric threads, so they prolly won't work. The 1963/64 Galaxie HiPo's had 11x3 finned drums in the front and 11x2 1/2 finned drums in the rear, but the bolt pattern is too small.

The 68/72 F100 has 11x3 front drums. 11x2 1/4 rears. What is involved in switching these to a 1960 F100 may be known by someone here.

Dustin1690 02-11-2007 10:52 PM