Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum168/)
-   -   B99 in an '06 LCF (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/525376-b99-in-an-06-lcf.html)

JTdesert 09-08-2006 11:46 AM

B99 in an '06 LCF

Hello,
B99 is available at the pump here in Santa Cruz CA. and I've been burning it in my tractors for about six months now with no ill effects. I'm looking to buy a new box truck and Ford is discounting the '06 LCFs heavily. These trucks have a 4.5 Powerstroke diesel with twin turbo, it's basically a 6.0 minus two cyl. I understand ford only recommends up to b5, but will this truck run reliably on b99? Thanks

cookie88 09-11-2006 06:57 PM

No reason why it shouldn't. Everything runs better on bio.

mgraveman 09-11-2006 09:05 PM

My new chevy gets the warranty voided if I do that. Better look first....

kennedyford 09-12-2006 01:06 AM

Prove it when you fill you tank with dino and pull into the dealer. What are they going to do, lick it? How about sending it in for $$$$$$ test to see what percentage is bio or dino? Hmmmm I think that is meant to scare you and protect them against things they do not understand. Stupid manufacturers

mgraveman 09-12-2006 08:26 AM

I agree, but I can't buy it in this area anyway, and don't have time to make it-so it's a non issue. It may be to protect them from people brewing their own that screw it up. I know the new trucks are very sensitive. I think my chevy has injection pressures in the neighborhood of 30k psi....

It really made me mad when I read it, but I bet Ford and Dodge are doing the same thing.

Stupid Manufacturers.

This is a good way to reduce our dependence on foriegn oil, and I can't even do it.

IABill 09-19-2006 07:18 PM