Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   3.8 & 4.2L V6 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum50/)
-   -   Engine knocking (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/461722-engine-knocking.html)

MacDug 02-14-2006 02:45 PM

Engine knocking

Well I think it happened to me today,, i replaced my alternator after letting the truck sit for a few days,,, when trying to start it again,, heard a hard knock,, then when it started a huge cloud of vapor issued from the exaust smelling heavily of coolant. I then heard the knocking in the engine. I have no idea WHAT is knocking, I just know that it is bad. I am no mechanic, so if yall could inform me,, what gasket causes the influx of coolant into the cylinders, and what usually happens to the engine to cause the knock? I have a stock engine with 144,000+ miles on it, owned for 2 years+ and the alternator is the first component i have had to replace,, I LOVE MY TRUCK,,, AND DONT WANT IT TO DIE.

travlnman 02-14-2006 08:44 PM

It's your lower intake gaskets, it's your rod that is knocking(bent or broken), and I hate to be the bearer of bad news , but you need a new engine. Your cylinder was full of coolant due to the gaskets leaking while it sat. Liquid cannot be compressed, therefore the rod gives, and you end up rebuilding or replacing the engine. I am truly sorry, as I barely dodged that bullet last year, and so did Brian. BTW, what year is your truck?

bokker 02-15-2006 03:01 AM

hi macdug, did your engine continue to knock after it had been started or did it stop after all the coolant had been evacuated from the cylinder.
if you think the knock stopped, you may be lucky and get away with the cost of new lower intake gaskets.

MacDug 02-15-2006 03:07 AM