Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum117/)
-   -   1988 ford won't start (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/429976-1988-ford-wont-start.html)

snap_on_tootls 11-14-2005 09:14 PM

1988 ford won't start

I have a 1988 ford f-350 diesel 7.3 liter. My problem is I'm having a hard time starting the truck when its cold. I have changed the fuel filters, installed new fuel pump, new glow plugs, new relay for glow plugs and I even drained the tanks and put new fuel in them. I tested the glow plugs, the relay and fuel all is fine. Once I get it to start its fine until the next day. Then it won't start its like it losing its prime but the fuel pumps up no problem no air in system. I'm at a lost help.

gallantentry 11-14-2005 09:24 PM

Im not a mechanic but my experience with new parts doesn't always mean theyre working properly. I know that dielsel injectors aren't supposed to be ran dry, so it doesn't sound like a fuel delivery problem, unless the pressure is too low, but then it wouldn't run smooth warmed up or not if the pump was the issue. maybe the glow plugs are weak or something.

Chevy_Eater 11-14-2005 09:25 PM

Sounds like you got it pretty much covered. This may sound odd, but a friend of mine has a '88 F-250 7.3 and he went through the same thing. (And he's currently in New Jersey, a hard start problem in a New Jersey winter with a diesel is not a good thing.) After checking, testing, and replacing everything he was about to have the injection pump looked at. He called me up a while back and said he fixed the problem, it was his batteries. Even though they cranked the truck over okay and passed a load test they were his problem. I don't know if they weren't quite turning the engine over fast enough or not getting the glow plugs hot enough or what, but that did it for him.

IHdieselfan 11-14-2005 09:32 PM