Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Aerostar (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum33/)
-   -   Convert a 2WD Aerostar to AWD??? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/347424-convert-a-2wd-aerostar-to-awd.html)

93AeroEB 02-21-2005 10:38 PM

Convert a 2WD Aerostar to AWD???

Is it possible to convert a 1993 2WD Aerostar EB with a A4LD to a AWD drivetrain? Has anyone done it, and how much work is it?

I am a Subaru veteran (this is my first time posting), and the mod capeabilities of soobs is endless - older 2wd car to AWD is not hard at all on those cars - in fact it is a relatively easy bolt-in change.

Traction on snow (or anything else) in a stock 2WD Aerostar leaves MUCH to be desired (especially when compared to a vintage soob). How good is the AWD drivetrain overall? Is it as reliable and rugged as the 2WD? Gas mileage difference between 2wd and AWD? Handeling? Maitnence? Are there different versions of the AWD? If so what are they like? I have a 1993 FSM for the drivetrain, but I don't know how similar other model years are.

AWD Aerostars are not common around here, but my chassis/body is rust-free, and all I guess would really need is a donor car of sorts.

93nighthawk 02-22-2005 09:32 AM

You would need the Transfer case, drive shafts, front dif, front suspension, CVs, Hubs, Module under drivers seat, possibly wire harnes, PCM (maybe), plus some other stuff that I can't think of right now. If you have done swaps on Soobs, then this would not be too tuff for you, but for the average joe, I would recomend just buying an AWD, it would be cheaper in the long run.

amish77 02-22-2005 09:41 AM

yeah, and be sure to post how it turs out, sounds like a fun job.

93AeroEB 02-22-2005 09:23 PM

Originally Posted by 93nighthawk