Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Ohio Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum91/)
-   -   Newbie just joined needs help (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/242187-newbie-just-joined-needs-help.html)

OH96F1504X4 05-19-2004 03:15 PM

Newbie just joined needs help

Hi ladies and gentlemen. As the title says I'm a newbie to the forum. Just joined. I need a little help. I've got a 96 F150 4x4 5.0L 5sp with 3.55 gears. I bought it new off the lot and have used and abused it religiously. It's been a great truck. Now with 102K it's starting to get a little tired. It just doesn't have the same umph that it used too. After I wore out the stock tires, I bought a set of 31x10.5x15 tires because I was tired of the smaller ones breaking loose when I gunned it, but I've added nothing else to the truck over the years. Only regular maintenance. Now that I have a new mustang to haul me back and forth to work and such, it's time to put a little extra in my F150 and make it a real toy. The problem is....it's been so long since I've done anything major in the way of serious wrenching, I'm just not sure what's out there in the way of aftermarket parts. The truck is in relatively good condition. Only a little rust on the bottom of the driver's side door. For sure it could use a new exhaust. It has a check engine light showing, which I assume is the O2 sensor and a slight shimmy at 60-65 mph which I assume is a result of seriously worn tires or possible worn shocks. I was thinking of possibly adding a 4 inch lift and headers for a good start. Then some new tires. I'm just not sure where else to go. Anythoughts would be seriously appreciated. Especially with the EFI,

Thanks

F2504x4 05-19-2004 03:47 PM

Hi and Welcome to FTE and the Ohio chapter.