Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum37/)
-   -   1981 F250 Sporadic Engine Stalls (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1572141-1981-f250-sporadic-engine-stalls.html)

BlueWhiteFord 02-10-2019 12:55 PM

1981 F250 Sporadic Engine Stalls

I bought a 1981 F250 with dual fuel tanks a couple of weeks ago and am slowly fixing it up. I have been driving it every day for about a week now and am getting sporadic engine stalls. I’ll be driving for 10 minutes and then my engine will cut out, as if it is not getting any gas. I then just roll to the side of the road and try starting it again. Sometimes it fires right up, other times I will have to wait a couple of minutes. This happens every 5-20 minutes.
I am rather new to the world of Fords in particular and would appreciate some input on possible causes.

FuzzFace2 02-10-2019 02:38 PM

First welcome to FTE.
You did not post what size motor as that may lead us to something else than what I listed below.

That is a sure sign the IGN box on the inside of the fender well is going bad.
It heats up and stops working and motor shuts off.
Motor off it cools down and will start working again.

This can do this for years if you can stand it that long or stop tomorrow and not work again.
If you find that it does the same thing you now have a spare for when it does goes bad.
Post back if it works or not and if not we can dig deeper.
Dave ----

BlueWhiteFord 02-10-2019 03:00 PM

Thank you for taking the time to reply.