Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum38/)
-   -   No Spark - Trying To Fire The Resto Project (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1571645-no-spark-trying-to-fire-the-resto-project.html)

Superblue400 02-06-2019 01:18 PM

No Spark - Trying To Fire The Resto Project

So, I'm trrying to start the 79 F250 Custom 400 I've been working on for 2 1/3 years. I'm getting power to the red wire at the coil with key on, but not getting anything (flashing or constant test light) at the green wire on the coil when cranking. It has a NOS Motorcraft Ignition module, and a reman dist unit (actually - it looked Chinesium new). I tested the green wire that goes to the coil at the connector to the module on the fenderwell - when you first crank it, the test light lights up bright for just a second, then it does nothing. Anyone encounter this before?

moose4x4 02-06-2019 02:22 PM

Have you verified the distributor rotor is turning?

Superblue400 02-06-2019 03:16 PM

Yes it is.

desperado_18_2000 02-06-2019 05:57 PM

Does the ignition module have power? I tried to hotwire my "new" 77 a few days ago b/c the key was lost. I had power to the coil, but if the ignition module isn't supplied power it will not fire. Learned that the hard way, after pulling my hair out for a couple minutes.

jade79 02-08-2019 06:52 PM

I would check the pick up coil in the distributor. I got a new one that only lasted a short while and a replacement that was open.

Disconnect the connector at the distributor. Testing the connector that goes into the distributor, make sure the black wire (ground) has little to no resistance (0 ohms) to ground.

Check the resistance between the two other wires that go into the distributor. This tests for an open pickup coil. Should have around 400-800 ohms.