Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum41/)
-   -   Help with descriptions! (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1569870-help-with-descriptions.html)

hannealexis 01-22-2019 03:13 PM

Help with descriptions!

Hello! I am an author. I'm working on a book, and could use some help. In my book, one of my main characters is a mechanic. While cleaning out their grandparents house, they find an old Ford truck that had belonged to Grandpa. He died in the 60’s and grandma threw some furniture blankets over it in the garage, set a few boxes on the hood over the years and forgot about it.

This isn’t anywhere near the main plot of my book, but it kind of goes through the whole thing.

So a few things I’m wondering:

From google, I like the looks for the Ford F-1 (1948). Were they easy enough to get a hold of back in the day? My story takes place in Montana, if that makes a difference.

If it was kept in a garage (out of the wind, rain) what condition would you expect to find it in? Ideally, this is something that they could finish over the course of the summer, maybe waiting on one last part they’d have to order. Would rats be a possible issue in the engine? Would the engine be something they would restore, or could/would you drop a whole new engine in it? What are some other things they might need to do to get it back in good shape/driving condition?

This isn’t something that I need to be 100% exact on with a timeline or whatever (although, what might be a realistic timeline?), but I don’t want to be like “truck truck, wheels…” and I just can’t repeatedly say that ‘so-and-so was working on the car’ — I’d like to mention things here/there that they’ve done or have to do. What parts they might have to order or be waiting on.

Would anyone be willing to help me out with some basics?

Thanks!

Mixer man 01-22-2019 04:02 PM