Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   2017+ Super Duty (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum279/)
-   -   Real World Capability (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1569720-real-world-capability.html)

JD'sBigredv10 01-21-2019 12:22 PM

Real World Capability

I have an idea. Let’s pretend for a moment that trucks are not assigned Gross Vehicle Weight Ratings to place them into specific classifications. That means there is no payload sticker. We are responsible for determining the true capability of our trucks based on the components that they come equipped with. I am asking to have a discussion based on logic (or possibly science) and the published ratings of individual components. That means the weight (sticker) police may need to suspend their version of reality if they wish to have meaningful input. I am not an expert in this subject but do tend to think through things in a logical manner. Obviously, I am using my F250 as the example. At this point it is completely stock.

The tires are rated at 3,750 pounds. That is 7,500 lbs. per axle. The front axle is rated at 5,600 lbs. Actually, that’s the rating for the coil springs but Ford applies the same rating to the axle. I can’t think of any reason why that shouldn’t be the maximum load placed on the front end. One could install stiffer springs to add additional load carrying capability and the axle would clearly support it.

For the rear, the combined load capacity of the tires is also 7,500 lbs. The rear axle rating is 6,340 pounds. As currently equipped, based on the ratings of the individual components, my truck should be capable of supporting a gross vehicle weight of 11,940 pounds as long as the front does not exceed 5,600 lbs. and the rear does not exceed 6,340 lbs. That strikes me as sound logic but maybe I’m missing something.