Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Modular V8 (4.6L, 5.4L) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum48/)
-   -   2002 expedition 5.4L coil pack info (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1566307-2002-expedition-5-4l-coil-pack-info.html)

stufrus 12-20-2018 07:13 PM

2002 expedition 5.4L coil pack info

Evening - I'm a newbie in need of your input and wisdom. I've got a 2002 5.4L Expedition with 4wheel drive. My #7 is misfiring, however, going up hill or stressing the pedal, it seems like more than just #7 misfiring. Anyway - I'd like to change out the plugs with Motorcraft OEM plugs as well as the coils on all cylinders. The truck has about 120k miles, original plugs and coils - and so I feel that if I'm going to replace the plugs - why not the coils too!
I'm reading about ohms, resistances, oil filled verses resin filled, and I have no idea what they are talking about. So, is there anyone out there that can simply recommend a medium priced coil brand that will operate as good or better than OEM, fit my truck, match OEM specifications and maybe even improve performance and gas mileage.

lv2race 12-20-2018 07:40 PM

This is a thread a few lines down for Motorcraft coils.
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...-cop-deal.html

Rock Auto has OE Denso at a good price.
https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/...tion+coil,7060

And definitely stick with Motorcraft plugs!

Your truck is gonna run WAAAY better!

R&T Babich 12-21-2018 06:33 PM

Originally Posted by stufrus (Post 18372501)
.... I'd like to change out the plugs with Motorcraft OEM plugs as well as the coils on all cylinders. The truck has about 120k miles, original plugs and coils - and so I feel that if I'm going to replace the plugs - why not the coils too! ....

Definitely use Motorcraft plugs.
The reason why not to change the coils is they are probably ok, it's your boots that may be degraded/bad.