Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum31/)
-   -   '01 7.3L Rough Idle w/Service Engine Soon light (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1554561-01-7-3l-rough-idle-w-service-engine-soon-light.html)

flyboy47 09-07-2018 10:22 PM

'01 7.3L Rough Idle w/Service Engine Soon light

FTE,

I've seen a lot of great help from others on this site, so I thought I'd ask for some myself (first post).

I have an '01 F-350 dually with the 7.3L diesel. Yesterday it gave me the "Service Engine Soon" light and started to run *rough* -- as in low power, lots of shaking, and sounded way off. I'm no expert or mechanic, but it sounded like a misfire. This condition never happened immediately after starting, but only a few seconds/minutes after running (usually when the engine was operating at idle) the conditions came back and wouldn't go away. Well, once or twice it went away briefly and then came back.l

Well, I limped into town and took it to a mechanic and immediately he noticed my fuel filter was way old. I changed it out for a brand new one and then ran 200 miles on the truck and it felt brand new. No issues. So I know that this action at least did something. I also changed the air filter and ran some SeaFoam into the engine. So I know one of these actions (most likely the over-corroded fuel filter) did something good.

Since then, I've had the same problem happen to me twice, but only for very brief periods (not enough time to stick my code-reader into the console!). Once was when I was idling for a long time down a mountain pass in Drive. Light came on for 2 seconds and then went out. I did not notice a change in engine performance. The second was just today from switching from 2nd to Drive and, in idle, gave me the same indications (light and rough idle) for about 5 seconds, and then everything went back to normal.