Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum31/)
-   -   A/C and ventilation (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1540314-a-c-and-ventilation.html)

richlars 05-14-2018 09:28 PM

A/C and ventilation

Hope this is the correct forum.
I'm still new to my 2000 F-350 PowerStroke. A few weeks ago we hooked up the trailer for a trip to the Grand Canyon.With ambient temperatures in the mid 70's there was not a lot of need for A/C but I noticed that when we did try to use it when the truck was under load, there was quite a noisy cycling of the A/C compressor. It didn't sound destructive just noisy and while cycling it became useless in providing any cool air. Is this normal?
Then when I decided to turn the A/C off to relieve engine stress and tun the vent on, it felt that the vent air was the full engine bay temp. Does the vent not draw from a fresh air source?
Thanks, Rich

da-bees 05-15-2018 11:46 AM

The noise you heard while towing and running ac was probably the radiator cooling fan. You can stop hot air from vent by cutting off coolant flow through heater core. Install a ball valve in either heater hose so that coolant flow can be turned off during summer. That will also make ac blow colder.

Sous 05-15-2018 11:54 AM

You may have a couple of different issues going on here, I will try to keep this short and informative.

Verify your compressor clutch is operating properly, if not follow the video below.

Your evaporator coil may be clogged up and not circulating air as it is designed to. Check out the video below.

You could have a bad or corroded resistor. Check out the video below.

Your fan (squirrel cage) could be damaged or not operating properly. There are 3 screws holding it in, simple to remove and check out function.