Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 to 2016 Super Duty (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum30/)
-   -   Intake questions. (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1523582-intake-questions.html)

MattRamsdell 01-10-2018 08:34 PM

Intake questions.

Have a 2010 250 SD. Single cab with a 5.4. Pretty new to Ford's. I have been a Chrysler tech, on and off for years, and a government diesel mechanic. Mostly owned Chevy's. I like this Ford a lot but it needs some changes. Definitely feels smothered (which I have read is typical). Wondering what type of realistic gains with breathing and mileage I will get with a new intake. Also if there is any reliable info on actual numbers between makers.

StrokinHer01 01-17-2018 12:49 PM

Originally Posted by MattRamsdell (Post 17717139)
Have a 2010 250 SD. Single cab with a 5.4. Pretty new to Ford's. I have been a Chrysler tech, on and off for years, and a government diesel mechanic. Mostly owned Chevy's. I like this Ford a lot but it needs some changes. Definitely feels smothered (which I have read is typical). Wondering what type of realistic gains with breathing and mileage I will get with a new intake. Also if there is any reliable info on actual numbers between makers.

I don’t know exactly but I do know it will be a definitive noticeable change in power for sure and in mpg also...

KenRebF-250 01-17-2018 03:33 PM

What, if any, are the choices of aftermarket intake manifolds for the 5.4? I understand there is very little in the way of improvement of exhaust elimination but I've never seen anything regarding intake improvement.

super 6.8 01-17-2018 05:08 PM

Best thing you can do initially is get a 5 star tune to get rid of the dead feeling drive by wire. you will be amazed.

Mike189677 01-17-2018 06:42 PM

Originally Posted by super 6.8 (Post 17733155)