Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Clutch, Transmission, Differential, Axle & Transfer Case (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum69/)
-   -   How to install a mini spoom into ford 9 " (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/149007-how-to-install-a-mini-spoom-into-ford-9-a.html)

adrian4u2c 09-03-2003 06:34 AM

How to install a mini spoom into ford 9 "

hey guys i was wanting to install a mini spool ive been threw all the pro's n cons etc.
I need to know what i need and how to do the hole thing im a fitter by trade so im capable to do it i just need info on how to fit the spool if anyone can throw in the right direction it would be great thanks Adrian
of you wanna email that would b great too thanks
adrian4u2c@optushome.com.au

KJKozak2 09-03-2003 09:26 AM

It's not that tough. I did mine myself and had never seen the inside of a dif before that.

First, go the the "tech articles" section of this site under "2000 Articles" and read "Building A Ford 9 inch Rear End". VERY VERY helpful if you're doing anything with the 9". Print it out and keep it with you during this process.

Block the front wheels and jack up the rear. Put both ends of the axle on stands. Remove the wheels. Remove the drums. Remove the 4 nuts holding the axle retaining plate and brake backing plate onto the end of the axle tube. There's a hole in the axle flange to get a socket on these nuts.

Pull the axle about 12" out of the tube. You may want to put a drain pan under the end to catch any gear lube. Do this to both sides as you can't remove the center section until the axles are out ot if.

Remove the 4 nuts on the u-bolts that hold the rear u-joints to the yoke. Remove the u-bolts and drop the drive shaft. You might want to hang the shaft from the frame with a bungee to get it out of the way.