Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   Best flaring tool comprimise (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1437517-best-flaring-tool-comprimise.html)

4DB 05-28-2016 03:21 PM

Best flaring tool comprimise

Guys, my truck has been down for more than a week because of bad inverted flares on 3/16" tubing. My old Ridgid tool works acceptably well on 1/4" tubing but won't make a decent 3/16" flare even by accident. Until I get this problem resolved I've got no brakes in the truck (and it's not like the tool is worn out; I've never used it for 3/16" tubing before this project).

I either need a flaring tool of acceptable quality or switch the truck over to AN hoses, which I would have already done if I could find the fitting to match the Ford MC.

Anybody got any suggestions? The truck is my '90 C-350.

bashby 05-28-2016 03:40 PM

You can get an OEM brand through the free toolrental program at autozone or advance. Worth a shot. You can also get pre flared sections of tubing and piece them together with unions. If you are doing a long run this way ive had the best luck by estimating the length, buy pices that should come up 1-2 feet short, then work from both ends leaving a section out wher you can make a zig zag or loop in case a premade line isnt exactly right.

4DB 05-28-2016 03:59 PM

I should have included that it's 70 miles to anything other than a Napa (and 35 miles to the closest Napa).

I have pieced some stuff together, but there's no way (that I've thought of) to get around the fact that the brake master cylinder doesn't use 3/8" fittings on the 3/16" tubing. There either has to be an adaptor (no luck there), or you have to put the old fittings on the new tubing and flare, at least, that one end of tubing on both tubes.