Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum41/)
-   -   Shipping/payment help (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1379292-shipping-payment-help.html)

purplewg 05-18-2015 06:51 AM

Shipping/payment help

I am about to pull the trigger on purchasing a 52 F1. I need to have it shipped to me. I know there are lot of shippers out there. Any personal experiences with good or bad ones?

The second question is how do I pay so that I am protected and the seller is also? I don't want to send money without some sort of security I will get the truck.

I have no experience in this long distance buying. Thanks

GreatNorthWoods 05-18-2015 07:04 AM

I have used Exotic Transport with good results. :)

dadgonebroke 05-18-2015 08:25 AM

I had good luck with Uship- Detroit to Kansas- $900. The more common the route- the less expensive the price. I was off the beaten path so fewer shippers wanted my job.

52 Merc 05-18-2015 08:55 AM

imo, the best way to pay is through your own banks. If everyone is real, it's easy and safe. I sold an engine block and parts to a guy in England once. We emailed back and forth the details, but I went to my bank, opened a separate account for safety, and had the buyer wire transfer the funds from his bank to my bank into that account. There are wire transfer fees the wire company charges both parties, so be prepared for that. That takes the scam part from the money side, at least. Your next hope is the truck is real and what you expect. If it's a lot of money, it may be best to take a couple days and a plane ticket to see it for real, so there's no expensive surprises along the way. You can pay and collect title in person and then arrange shipping.

purplewg 05-18-2015 09:53 AM