Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   I'm interest in biodiesel , would anyone know about that ???? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1370164-im-interest-in-biodiesel-would-anyone-know-about-that.html)

trevorrules 03-26-2015 03:26 PM

I'm interest in biodiesel , would anyone know about that ????

I have a 1995 Powerstroke and I wanting to run biodiesel in it but I have very little knowledge about it , would anyone have any suggestions about it ? Or how I would go about doing it ????

Milpool 03-26-2015 07:53 PM

A handful of years ago I looked into it a little when I had an 84 Benz diesel wagon. The chemical process for making it made me shy away from it. That and the idea of driving around for waste veg oil.

http://www.make-biodiesel.org/Featur...tutorials.html - some reading materials

krooser 03-27-2015 02:54 AM

Are you talking about buying bio-diesel at the pump or making your own? There were a few local guys doing their own around here years ago but I think they have all sold their equipment to make it… one guy told me it was just too much hassle for him...

trevorrules 03-27-2015 06:52 AM

Well I want to see how my truck runs on it before investing money into it , I have no idea of knowing what the side effects aren't and long terms are with running biodiesel

rla2005 03-27-2015 03:55 PM

Let me google that for you

I had to do it...}>

krooser 04-01-2015 04:43 AM

I used bio-diesel in my big trucks whenever I found at a good price. Some states subsidize the pump price… I used it a lot in IL and MN where it was usually about 5 cents less than dino fuel at the pump… that was usually a 10% blend. It always worked fine in my Cat engines….

trevorrules 04-07-2015 01:25 PM

I was told that like cooking oils and such will draw a lot of moisture and eventually ruin stuff , is that true ?